Steve Martin Banjo Prize Announcement On Deering Live

by David Bandrowski

We are very excited to have been able to join forces with the FreshGrass Foundation and Compass Records to feature the official announcement of the 2021 Steve Martin Banjo Prize on Deering Live! This was a great episode of Deering Live featuring some special guests and two extremely well deserved winners, so be sure to watch! 

Watch the announcement on Deering Live below:


The 2021 Steve Martin Banjo Prize winners are:

Alan Munde: One of the true titans of the 5-string banjo, Alan Munde launched his professional career in the late 1960s playing with bluegrass legend Jimmy Martin. He went on to join the Flying Burrito Brothers, and later, The Country Gazette, whose members included fiddler Byron Berline. A master of both traditional and melodic styles with a discography of over 20 recordings, Munde has influenced generations of bluegrass banjo players, including progressive stylists Béla Fleck, Alison Brown and Noam Pikelny, and has been pivotal in reimagining the possibilities for the 5-string banjo.

Don Vappie: 4-string banjo maestro, Creole cultural expert, and jazzman extraordinaire, Don Vappie is a living embodiment of 300 years of New Orleans music. Vappie began playing at Preservation Hall in the late ’80s and for over 25 years has appeared regularly with Wynton Marsalis and the Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra. He has presented educational programs for Carnegie Hall, NPR, and the Smithsonian Institution, recorded eight albums, and composed music for film and television, including Treme and American Creole: New Orleans Reunion, a PBS documentary which he co-produced and in which he was also featured.





About The Steve Martin Banjo Prize:

Originally conceived of and launched in 2010 by comedy legend and banjo player Steve Martin, the Steve Martin Banjo Prize for Excellence in Banjo & Bluegrass put half a million dollars into the banjo community over the course of a decade with an unrestricted $50K award given annually to a master bluegrass or old-time banjo player. Winners included some of the instrument's brightest stars: Rhiannon Giddens, Noam Pikelny, Jens Kruger and Kristin Scott Benson. At the end of 2019, having fulfilled its initial mission of giving ten awards, Martin and the board determined that the Banjo Prize needed a new vision and infrastructure to move forward. Sponsored by The FreshGrass Foundation, The Steve Martin Charitable Foundation and The Compass Records Group, the new Steve Martin Banjo Prize recognizes outstanding achievement across all styles of 5 and 4 string banjo with an unrestricted cash award. Current board members include Steve Martin, Alison Brown, Béla Fleck, Noam Pikelny, Anne Stringfield, Tony Trischka, Pete Wernick, Johnny Baier, Kristin Scott Benson, Roger Brown, Jaime Deering, Dom Flemons, Paul Schiminger, Chris Wadsworth and Garry West. Please visit, Steve Martin Banjo Prize.


Kristin Scott Benson chooses the Deering Golden Series banjos
New call-to-action

Search Blog Post


Oct 4.2013

Watch the Kruger Brothers with Steve Martin on the Letterman Show

Jens Kruger has been named as the fourth recipient of the Steve Martin Prize for Excellence in Banjo and Bluegrass Music today. Kruger is known for his...

Sep 12.2012

2012 IBMA Award Nominees

The 2012 IBMA Award Nominations have been announced and Deering Artists are again represented very well. The Deering Artists that have been nominated include...

Sep 11.2012

Mark Johnson Wins the 2012 Steve Martin Award for Excellence in Banjo & Bluegrass

“I could not imagine my life without my banjo and the music I make with is like oxygen to me.” Mark Johnson

Mark Johnson, the Father of “Clawgrass” is...

sign up for our newsletter


see all